Salle de presse Wellington-Altus

Tenez-vous au courant de nos activités actuelles

Décès et impôts : Sensibilisation et connaissance de la production de multiples déclarations de revenus finales

Il y a bien des raisons pour lesquelles il peut être compliqué de préparer les déclarations de revenus d’une personne décédée au cours de l’année du décès. Toutefois, nous aurions tort de ne pas souligner les possibilités de planification qu’offrent certaines situations. Alors qu’en temps normal les contribuables peuvent ne produire qu’une seule déclaration de revenus pour une année d’imposition donnée, il est possible de produire plusieurs déclarations de revenus pour l’année du décès.

Les renseignements ci-dessous décrivent certains des avantages que comporte la production de multiples déclarations de revenus pour l’année du décès, tant du point de vue de l’impôt sur le revenu que des bénéficiaires.

Quels sont les avantages de produire de multiples déclarations?

Les contribuables canadiens sont assujettis à des taux marginaux d’imposition sur le revenu. Cela signifie que plus les revenus et les gains déclarés au cours d’une année donnée sont élevés, plus le taux d’imposition réel sera élevé. Par conséquent, si les mêmes revenus et gains sont fractionnés et déclarés dans des déclarations de revenus finales distinctes, cela crée des économies d’impôt et les bénéficiaires s’en tirent mieux. Ainsi:

 

 

Chaque déclaration finale supplémentaire fournit un ensemble distinct de taux marginaux d’imposition pour le contribuable décédé. Même si le contribuable décédé aura le même revenu l’année du décès, l’étalement de ce revenu sur plusieurs déclarations réduira son taux d’imposition réel.

La production de multiples déclarations de revenus multiplie également l’accès à un nombre limité de crédits d’impôt sur le revenu. Par exemple, chacune des déclarations de revenus finales peut demander le crédit d’impôt « Montant personnel de base », ce qui permet de réduire davantage le taux d’imposition réel par rapport à la production d’une seule déclaration. Il est également possible de répartir certains crédits entre les déclarations pour en optimiser l’utilisation. 

Choix de produire des déclarations distinctes

Au cours de l’année du décès, la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu prévoit que, dans certaines circonstances, le liquidateur, ou l’exécuteur testamentaire, peut produire des déclarations de revenus supplémentaires pour le compte du défunt, selon la nature du revenu et des gains reçus. Jusqu’à quatre déclarations de revenus peuvent être produites pour l’année du décès: 

Déclaration obligatoire:

  1. T1 Déclaration de revenus et de prestations

Déclarations facultatives:

  1. Déclaration de revenus provenant de droits ou de biens
  2. Déclaration de revenus des sociétés 
  3. Déclaration de revenus d’une succession assujettie à l’imposition à taux progressifs

Chacune de ces déclarations et leurs exigences sont examinées en détail plus loin.

01

T1 Déclaration de revenus et de prestations

Il s’agit de la déclaration de revenus standard qui doit obligatoirement être produite pour chaque contribuable décédé au cours de l’année du décès. Elle est communément appelée « déclaration à la date du décès » ou « déclaration finale ».

Cette déclaration fait état de tous les revenus et gains déclarés du 1er janvier jusqu’à la date du décès inclusivement, sauf les montants inclus dans les déclarations facultatives décrites ci-dessous. Cette déclaration de revenus comprend également les gains en capital découlant de la disposition réputée de biens immédiatement avant le décès du contribuable.

Date limite: Cela dépend de la date du décès du contribuable. En supposant que ni le client ni son conjoint n’étaient des travailleurs autonomes, les dates limites sont les suivantes:

02

Déclaration de revenus provenant de droits ou de biens

Les montants de revenu qui sont considérés comme des « droits ou biens » peuvent faire l’objet d’une déclaration distincte. En termes simples, un « droit ou bien » désigne les montants de revenu qui ont été gagnés et qui sont à recevoir au moment du décès, mais qui n’ont pas encore été versés ou perçus. Voici quelques exemples courants de « droits ou biens »:

  • Commissions impayées
  • Prestations d’AE, de RPC et de SV non versées
  • Montants pour les vacances ou les congés de maladienon utilisés
  • Rémunération et salaire dans certaines circonstances
  • Dividendes déclarés, mais non versés

Date limite: Pour produire une déclaration de revenus provenant de droits ou de biens, il faut déposer un formulaire de choix auprès de l’Agence du revenu du Canada au plus tard un an après la date du décès du contribuable ou dans les 90 jours suivant la date figurant sur l’avis de cotisation de la déclaration finale.

03

Déclaration de revenus des sociétés

Lorsque le contribuable est propriétaire ou associé d’une entreprise non constituée en société qui ne déclare pas son revenu selon l’année civile, une partie du revenu de l’entreprise peut être admissible à une déclaration distincte. Prenons l’exemple suivant :

  • Le contribuable décède le 1er septembre 2022;
  • Le contribuable était propriétaire d’une entreprise aumoment de son décès;
  • L’exercice financier de l’entreprise se termine le31 janvier.

Comme on peut le voir dans le calendrier à la page suivante, si le contribuable avait touché un revenu entre le 1er février et le 1er septembre 2022, ce revenu aurait pu faire l’objet d’une déclaration distincte.

Date limite: Cette déclaration facultative est exigible à la même date que la déclaration à la date du décès.

04

Déclaration de revenus d’une succession assujettie à l’imposition à taux progressifs

Il peut être possible de produire une autre déclaration facultative si la personne décédée était bénéficiaire d’une succession assujettie à l’imposition à taux progressifs (« SITP ») qui ne déclare pas son revenu selon l’année civile. 

Si la personne décédée a touché un revenu ou des gains en capital distribués à partir d’une SITP, une déclaration de revenus distincte peut être produite comme l’indique le calendrier ci-dessous.

Date limite: Cette déclaration facultative est exigible à la même date que la déclaration à la date du décès.

Collaboration avec les conseillers fiscaux

En cas de décès d’un contribuable, il est important de communiquer de façon proactive avec les conseillers fiscaux de la succession pour aider à choisir la méthode de déclaration fiscale la plus efficace pour les revenus et les gains en capital dans l’année du décès. La production de multiples déclarations peut souvent être très avantageuse pour la succession et les bénéficiaires du défunt, mais lorsqu’on tient compte de la complexité accrue pour le liquidateur, des honoraires professionnels supplémentaires et peut-être des délais qui s’ajouteront à l’administration de la succession, il se pourrait que tout cet exercice ait peu de valeur. Pour de plus amples renseignements et des conseils, communiquez avec le Groupe Planification de patrimoine avancée de Wellington-Altus.

Partager cet article :

2024 Tax Resources

2024 Wellington-Altus Corporate Tax Reference Card Personal Tax Planning Cards LIF and RLIF Minimum & Maximum Factors Personal and Corporate Tax Integration Reference Cards 2024

Lire la suite

The Canada Pension Plan (CPP) – What’s new for 2024?

Most Canadians are familiar with CPP, which provides retirement, disability, survivor, and death benefits for individuals that have been employed in Canada.1 CPP is funded by mandatory annual contributions by employees, employers and self-employed individuals based on their CPP pensionable earnings, which typically include salary, wages or other remuneration, commissions, bonuses, most taxable benefits, and tips/ gratuities.

Lire la suite

Foreign Spin-offs

Many Canadian shareholder investors (“investor”) own foreign securities. Occasionally a foreign corporation (“original corporation”) will spin-off a subsidiary or business line to its shareholders, so the subsidiary becomes a separate, publicly traded corporation (“spin-off corporation”). In this situation, the investor now owns two separate foreign securities.

Lire la suite

Les renseignements contenus aux présentes sont fournis à titre informatif seulement. Ces renseignements ne sont pas des conseils financiers, juridiques ou fiscaux ni des conseils en placement. Les stratégies de placement, de fiscalité ou de négociation doivent être étudiées en fonction des objectifs et de la tolérance au risque de chacun. La Financière Wellington-Altus inc. (« Wellington-Altus ») est la société mère de Wellington-Altus Gestion Privée (« WAGP »), de Wellington-Altus Conseil Privé inc. (« WACP »), d’Assurance Wellington-Altus inc. (« AWAI »), de Groupe Solutions Wellington-Altus inc. (« GSWA ») et de Wellington-Altus É.-U. Wellington-Altus ne garantit pas l’exactitude ni l’intégralité des renseignements contenus dans le présent document.

© Wellington-Altus Gestion Privée inc., Wellington-Altus Conseil Privé inc., Assurance Wellington-Altus inc., Groupe Solutions Wellington-Altus inc. et Wellington-Altus É.-U., 2024. TOUS DROITS RÉSERVÉS. NE PAS UTILISER NI REPRODUIRE SANS AUTORISATION. https://www.wellington-altus.ca/fr

Nous utilisons des témoins sur notre site web afin d'améliorer l'expérience des utilisateurs, d'analyser et d'améliorer nos services et de savoir quelles informations vous intéressent. En continuant à utiliser notre site web, vous acceptez notre utilisation des témoins. Vous pouvez modifier vos préférences en matière de témoins dans les paramètres de votre navigateur ou de votre appareil. En savoir plus Comment supprimer les témoins

Wellington-Altus Newsroom

Keep up-to-date with our current happenings

> Home  | Newsroom

Death and Taxes: Awareness and Understanding of Multiple Terminal Tax Returns

There are many reasons why preparing income tax returns for a deceased individual in the year of death can be complicated. However, we would be remiss to not recognize the planning opportunities available in appropriate client situations. While normally individual taxpayers may only file a single return for a given tax year, in the year of death, there is the option to file multiple tax returns.

The information below describes some of the benefits associated with filing multiple terminal tax returns in the year of death, both from an income tax and beneficiary perspective.

What are the benefits of filing multiple returns?

Canadian individuals are subject to marginal income tax rates. This means that the more income and gains reported in a given year, the higher the effective income tax rate will be. Therefore, if the same income and gains are split out and reported on separate terminal tax returns, tax savings are generated and beneficiaries are better off. Notably:

 

 

Each additional terminal tax return provides a separate set of marginal tax brackets for the deceased taxpayer. While the deceased taxpayer will have the same amount of income in the year of death, spreading that income over multiple returns will lower their effective tax rate.

Filing multiple terminal tax returns also multiplies access to a limited amount of income tax credits. For example, each of the terminal tax returns can claim the “Basic Personal Amount” tax credit, which would further reduce the effective tax rate when compared to filing a single return. It’s also possible to split certain credits between returns to optimize their use. 

Elections to file separate returns

In the year of death, the Income Tax Act provides that under certain circumstances, the executor may file additional income tax returns on behalf of the deceased, depending upon the nature of income and gains received. Up to four tax returns may be filed in relation to the year of death: 

Mandatory Return:

  1. T1 income tax and benefit return

Elective/Optional Return(s):

  1. Rights or things return
  2. Business/partnership income return 
  3. Income received from a Graduated Rate Estate return

Each of these returns and their requirements are discussed in more detail below.

01

T1 income tax and benefit return

This is the standard income tax return that is mandatory to file for every deceased taxpayer in the year of death. It is commonly referred to as a “Date of Death” Return (“DOD”) or a “Terminal” Return.

This return reports all income and gains reported from January 1st up to and including the date of death, except for amounts that are included in the elective returns described below. This tax return also includes any capital gains triggered due to the disposition of property deemed to occur immediately prior to the taxpayer’s death.

Due Date: This depends on the taxpayer’s date of death. Assuming that neither the client nor their spouse/common-law partner was self-employed, the due dates would be as follows:

02

Rights or things return

Amounts of income that are considered “rights or things” are eligible to be reported on a separate return. Simply put, a “right or thing” refers to amounts of income that have been earned and are receivable at the time of death but have not yet been paid or collected. Some common examples of “rights or things” can include:

  • Unpaid commissions
  • Unpaid EI, CPP and OAS benefits
  • Amounts for unused vacation or sick time
  • Salary and wages in certain circumstances
  • Declared, but unpaid dividends

Due Date: To file a Rights or Things Return, an election must be filed with the Canada Revenue Agency by the later of one year after the taxpayer’s date of death, or 90 days from the date on the notice of assessment of the terminal return.

03

Business/partnership income return

Where the taxpayer is a proprietor or a partner of an unincorporated business that does not report income on a calendar year basis, a portion of the business income may be eligible to be reported on a separate return. Consider the following example:

  • Taxpayer dies on September 1, 2022;
  • The taxpayer was a proprietor of a business at the time of their death; and
  • The business has a fiscal year that ends on January 31.

As can be seen in the timeline on the following page, if the taxpayer were to have received income during the period of February 1 – September 1, 2022, that income would be eligible to be reported on a separate return.

Due Date: This elective return is due on the same date as the DOD return.

04

Graduated rate estate income return

An additional opportunity to file an elective return may be available if the deceased was a beneficiary of a Graduated Rate Estate (“GRE”) trust that does not report its income on a calendar year basis. 

In the instance the deceased received income or capital gains distributed from a GRE, a separate income tax return is available to report as shown in the timeline below.

Due Date: This elective return is due on the same date as the DOD return.

Collaborate with your tax advisors

In the instance a taxpayer has died, it’s important to proactively reach out to the estate’s tax advisors to collaborate on the most effective tax reporting approach for income and capital gains for the year of death. Filing multiple returns can often be very beneficial for the deceased’s estate and beneficiaries, but when considered alongside the added complexity for the executor, additional professional fees and potentially longer timeframe to administer the estate, may result in little to no value. For more information and guidance, contact the Wellington-Altus Advanced Wealth Planning Group.

Share This Article:

Wellington-Altus

Investing in a Corporation

For business owners or incorporated practitioners that generate surplus funds not required to meet personal lifestyle needs or the needs of the business or practice, the question becomes how to maximize the value of these funds?

READ MORE »

2024 Tax Resources

2024 Wellington-Altus Corporate Tax Reference Card Personal Tax Planning Cards LIF and RLIF Minimum & Maximum Factors Personal and Corporate Tax Integration Reference Card 2024

READ MORE »

The information contained herein has been provided for information purposes only. The information does not provide financial, legal, tax or investment advice. Particular investment, tax, or trading strategies should be evaluated relative to each individual’s objectives and risk tolerance. Wellington-Altus Financial Inc. (Wellington-Altus) is the parent company to Wellington-Altus Private Wealth Inc. (WAPW), Wellington-Altus Private Counsel Inc. (WAPC), Wellington-Altus Insurance Inc. (WAII), Wellington-Altus Group Solutions Inc. (WAGS), and Wellington-Altus USA. Wellington-Altus (WA) does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of the information contained herein.

©2024, Wellington-Altus Private Wealth Inc., Wellington-Altus Private Counsel Inc., Wellington-Altus Insurance Inc., Wellington-Altus Group Solutions Inc., and Wellington-Altus USA. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. NO USE OR REPRODUCTION WITHOUT PERMISSION. www.wellington-altus.ca

We use cookies on our website to enhance user experience, analyze and improve our services, and learn what information interests you. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our use of cookies. You may change your cookie preferences in your browser or device settings. Learn More How to Delete Cookies